这是一个电子商务和消费主义盛行的时代。只需轻点几下鼠标就能订购任何产品并送货上门,这种无与伦比的便利性促使电子商务销售额不断攀升。

统计数据表明 50% 全球 50%的网上零售额发生在亚洲,其中以中国为首。毋庸置疑,航运和物流公司必须加大力度,以满足快速增长的需求。

然而,这对当地经济和环境--尤其是环境--造成了巨大影响。

在大自然中留下不良碳足迹的不仅仅是包装,还有排放量的惊人增长。通过本博客,让我们了解可持续创新如何帮助电子商务航运和物流企业在未来减少碳足迹。

电子商务对环境的影响

试着想象一下 有 30 亿棵树很困难吧?这就是每年有多少树木被砍伐和打浆 每年来制造人们在电子商务购物时收到的包装纸箱。

2020 年进行的一项 GreenSense 包装调查显示,网上购物产生了 7.8 亿件 在香港就产生了 7.8 亿件包装废弃物。这就引出了一个问题:这么多包装真的有必要吗?

包装只是电子商务物流对环境影响的一部分。到 2020 年,约有 37%的温室气体排放是由电子商务运输和退货物流产生的。

世界经济论坛(World Economic Forum)的研究表明,未来的环境形势也不容乐观。 世界经济论坛的研究。数据显示,到 2030 年,最后一英里配送预计将增长 78%。这将不可避免地导致全球至少 100 个城市的送货车辆增长 36%。

这将导致二氧化碳排放量增加 600 万吨!

[资料来源]

电子商务物流系统的可持续创新已不再仅仅是一种品牌考虑,而是一种必需。

从好的方面看,如今确实存在一些手段、资源和技术,可以帮助减少电子商务物流的负面影响。让我们来看看实现绿色倡议的可持续发展创新和实践。

在最后一英里电子商务中实现可持续性的最佳做法

重要的是要牢记,绿色环保或实施可持续发展举措是一种积极、有意识的做法。它不是一个即插即用的解决方案,不能一蹴而就。

物流公司和电子商务托运人以及消费者都应携起手来,共同保护我们称之为家园的地球。

1.绿色技术和电动汽车

最后一英里物流不涉及较长的距离。使用电力驱动的送货车队就能很好地做到这一点。电动汽车使用的技术已经成熟,人们可以毫无顾虑地自由采用这些解决方案。

在城市范围内,电动汽车也可以充电,至少在部分运行过程中可以实现无排放物流。其他绿色技术包括使用压缩天然气(CNG)车辆,但由于这种燃料来自地球,因此可能无法长期持续使用。

下图显示了改用电动汽车和创新包装解决方案如何为物流业带来更美好的未来:

2.能源效率和替代燃料

从化石燃料转向更环保的替代品,也是转向地球健康解决方案时值得考虑的一点。例如,车队使用氢燃料或生物燃料有助于大幅减少温室气体排放。

例如,使用太阳能电源插座为电动汽车供电,有助于创建一个循环生态系统,除了减少排放,燃料也是绿色的。

这种变化和影响将是渐进的,但它将有助于电子商务物流业务为子孙后代创造一个更加绿色的未来。

3.供应链的透明度

供应链透明化是最近的一种趋势,它鼓励托运人和物流公司采用可持续的替代方案。这些公司已承担起责任,确保以环保的方式运输所采购的产品和所有相关包装材料。

在这一举措的推动下,一些物流公司正在以确凿的数字记录他们的可持续发展实践、努力及其影响。"可持续发展报告 "有助于促进利益相关者之间的信任,并建立具有共同事业的持久伙伴关系。

4.创新包装解决方案和循环物流

虽然这种做法与物流关系不大,但创新的包装解决方案可以帮助公司大大减少碳足迹。即使是简单的步骤,如要求为回收目的保存包装,也能创造循环物流经济,促进重复使用,最大限度地减少进入垃圾填埋场的废物。

创新包装循环的一个很好的例子是鼓励将未损坏的包装退回源头。当顾客保存包装并将其寄回卖方时,向他们提供赠品或折扣代码,这有助于鼓励重复使用和回收。

未来愿景:技术驱动的可持续发展倡议

技术为每个行业提供了创新解决方案,提高了整个生态系统的效率和性能。无论是硬件、软件还是两者的结合,利用技术驱动的设备都有可能在未来彻底改变物流行业。

1.无人机

如前所述,"最后一英里 "物流不涉及长途跋涉。仓库的战略位置通常是为城市的划定区域提供服务。然而,数据显示 40%-55%但数据显示,最后一英里的配送成本占总成本的 40%-55%,而且往往效率最 低。

可以部署无人机负责短途送货,有助于减少部署车队送货产生的碳足迹。当相关的送货卡车不再上路时,还能减少道路拥堵。

2.自动驾驶汽车

自动驾驶汽车已经在全球多个国家出现并投入使用。在基础设施支持使用自动驾驶汽车的地区,最后一英里的送货工作可以委托给这项技术,从而有助于促进全天候运营。

自动驾驶汽车还通过对控制装置进行编程以实现节油驾驶,从而提高燃油效率。这有助于将排放量降到最低,同时减少燃料需求。这是控制车队运营成本的绝佳方式。

3.区块链

尽管区块链是为服务加密货币市场而开发的,但它在物流领域却有着巨大的潜力。基于区块链的网络有助于提高整个供应链的可见性,为优化资源配置提供可操作的洞察力。

例如,在部署送货车辆时,可以识别路线问题并推荐替代路线,以优化燃料使用和送货时限。还可以部署这些系统,跟踪包裹从源头到目的地的旅程,为买方提供有关包裹的实时更新信息。

4.物联网

物联网(IoT)是一种真正的智能技术,可以彻底改变物流公司的绿色举措。物联网有助于将硬件数据与软件连接起来,为控制器生成实时性能和资源使用信息。

在物流方面,物联网设备可以连接到车队车辆,以监控以下方面:

  • 在交通信号灯或拥堵路段上花费的时间。
  • 通过超速和换挡数据了解注重环保的驾驶习惯。
  • 结合基于人工智能的软件,支持物联网的车辆可以实时传递与送货效率有关的信息。
5.软件

仓库管理系统、国际航运合规平台、库存管理系统等软件可以大幅减少碳足迹。

基于云的软件部署减少了对内部电力的需求,同时由于服务器效率高而提高了性能。这就减少了资源浪费,改善了服务器使用行为,使企业能够减少碳足迹。

此外,诸如 海关城等软件和平台,减少了对纸质文件和实物文件运输的依赖,从而进一步降低了物流的复杂性。

海关城:高效物流管理

电子商务物流业要想适应未来的发展,就必须考虑将可持续发展作为所有运营活动的核心驱动力,特别是因为最近的一份 德勤 报告强调,当今客户最看重的是可持续包装和减少废物。

利用物联网驱动的车辆监控和电力驱动的车队等现代技术优化物流链就是一个很好的开始。此外,实施数字物流平台,如 海关城 等数字物流平台,可以更智能地利用资源,同时缩短后台物流操作的周转时间。

海关城 是一个海关合规平台,可实现国际货运文件的数字化和自动化。它通过自动提交必要的表格和申请,消除了繁琐的文书工作,从而减轻了托运人的负担。

海关城为您提供巨大优势,尤其是对于跨境物流公司而言。访问 网站 了解更多信息。

今天预约免费咨询

最近的博客

保持联系

获取Customs City 新闻
,发送到您的
收件箱。

新闻简报

This is the era where eCommerce and consumerism are reigning at their peak. The insurmountable convenience of ordering any product within a few taps and getting doorstep delivery drives e-commerce sales higher.

Statistics suggest that 50% of the world’s online retail sales happen in Asia, with China leading the bandwagon. Needless to say, shipping and logistics companies have had to amp up their efforts in order to keep up with the rapidly rising demands.

However, it has led to a tremendous impact on the local economies and environment – particularly the environment.

It isn’t just the packaging that is leaving a bad carbon footprint in nature, but also the staggering increase in emissions. Through this blog, let’s understand how sustainable innovations can help eCommerce shipping and logistics businesses reduce their carbon footprint in the future.

Impact of eCommerce on The Environment

Try to imagine a large forest of 3 billion trees. Difficult, right? That is how many trees are cut and pulped every year to make the packaging cartons that people receive through their eCommerce shopping.

A GreenSense packaging survey done in 2020 revealed that online shopping generated 780 million pieces of packaging waste – in Hong Kong alone. This begs the question: is so much packaging is really necessary?

Packaging is only a part of the entire picture concerning the environmental impact of eCommerce logistics. In 2020, about 37% of the total greenhouse gas emissions were generated by eCommerce shipping and return logistics.

Even the future looks grim for the environment, according to research conducted by the World Economic Forum. The numbers highlight that by 2030, last-mile delivery is forecasted to grow by a staggering 78%. This will inevitably result in the growth of delivery vehicles by 36% in at least 100 cities around the globe.

This will result in an increase in carbon dioxide emissions by 6 million tonnes!

[Source]

Sustainable innovations in eCommerce logistics systems are not just a branding consideration anymore; they are a necessity.

On the bright side, the means, resources, and technology do exist today that can help curtail the negative impact of eCommerce logistics. Let’s take a look at sustainability innovations and practices towards a green initiative.

Best Practices to Implement for Sustainability in Last-Mile eCommerce

It is important to bear in mind that going green or implementing sustainability initiatives is an active, conscious practice. It isn’t a plug-and-play solution that will generate results overnight.

Logistics companies and eCommerce shippers – and consumers as well – should all come together and hold hands for the planet we call home.

1. Green Technology and Electric Vehicles

Last-mile logistics do not involve longer distances. This is something highly doable by using an electrically powered fleet of delivery vehicles. The technology that electric vehicles use has come to maturity, allowing people to freely adopt these solutions without any apprehensions.

Within city limits, there is a good provision to charge the electric vehicles as well, enabling emission-free logistics, at least for some part of the operation. Other green technologies include the use of CNG-based vehicles – however, since the fuel is derived from the earth, it may not be sustainable in the long term.

The chart below shows how switching to electric vehicles and innovative packaging solutions can result in a better future for logistics:

[Source]

2. Energy Efficiency and Alternative Fuels

Switching from fossil-based fuel to greener alternatives is also a point worth considering when making the switch to planet-healthy solutions. For example, running the fleets using hydrogen-based or biofuels can help reduce greenhouse gas emissions drastically.

For example, powering electric vehicles using solar powered outlets can help create a circular ecosystem where the fuel is green as well, in addition to reduction in emissions.

The change and impact would be gradual, but it would help eCommerce logistics operations help facilitate a greener future for the coming generations.

3. Transparency in Supply Chain

Supply chain transparency is more of a recent trend that is encouraging shippers and logistics companies to adopt sustainable alternatives. The companies have taken responsibility to ensure that the products and all associated packaging materials sourced are transported in an environment-friendly manner.

Taking this initiative one step further, some logistics companies are documenting their sustainability practices, efforts, and their impact in solid numbers. “Sustainability reporting” helps foster trust amongst the stakeholders and create lasting partnerships that have a common cause.

4. Innovative Packaging Solutions and Circular Logistics

Although this practice is remotely concerned with logistics, innovating packaging solutions can help companies reduce their carbon footprint by leaps and bounds. Even simple steps like requesting packaging preservation for recycling purposes can create a circular logistics economy, promoting reuse and minimizing waste that reaches landfills.

A good example of an innovative packaging loop is incentivizing the return of undamaged packaging to the source. Giving the customers freebies or discount codes when they preserve packaging and send it back to the seller helps encourage reuse and recycling.

A Vision of The Future: Tech-Powered Sustainability Initiatives

Technology has empowered every single industry with innovative solutions that enhance the efficiency and performance of the entire ecosystem. Leveraging tech-powered implements – whether hardware, software or a combination of both – has the potential to transform the logistics industry in the future completely.

1. Drones

As discussed earlier, last-mile logistics do not involve traversing longer distances. The warehouses are often strategically located to service demarcated areas of a city. However, data shows that 40%-55% of the overall costs of delivery are taken up by the last mile and are often the most inefficient.

It is possible to deploy drones to take care of short-distance deliveries, helping reduce the carbon footprint that would otherwise occur from deploying fleet vehicles for the same. It will also reduce road congestion when the concerned delivery trucks are taken off the road.

2. Autonomous Vehicles

Autonomous vehicles are already in existence and in use in several countries around the world. For the areas where infrastructure supports the use of autonomous vehicles, last-mile deliveries can be delegated to this technology, helping promote round-the-clock operation.

Autonomous vehicles also promote fuel efficiency by programming the controls for fuel-efficient driving practices. This helps bring emissions down to a minimum while also simultaneously reducing fuel requirements. This is an excellent way to control operating costs of the fleet.

3. Blockchain

Blockchain has tremendous potential in logistics, even though it was developed to service the cryptocurrency market. Blockchain-based networks can help enhance the visibility of the entire supply chain, providing actionable insight to optimize resource allocation.

For example, it is possible to identify route issues and recommend alternative routes while deploying delivery vehicles to optimize fuel use and delivery timelines. They can also be deployed to track the journey of a package from its source to the destination, providing the buyer with real-time updates about the package.

4. IoT

IoT, or the Internet of Things, is a true gift of intelligent technology that can revolutionize the green initiative of logistics companies. IoT helps connect hardware data with software to generate real-time performance and resource use information for the controller.

In the context of logistics, IoT devices can be connected to fleet vehicles to monitor aspects such as:

  • Stationery time spent at traffic lights or navigating congestion.
  • Speeding and gear-change data to understand environment-conscious driving habits.
  • In conjunction with AI-based software, IoT-enabled vehicles can communicate real-time information pertaining to delivery efficiency.
5. Software

Software like Warehouse Management Systems, compliance platforms for international shipping, inventory management systems, etc. can drastically reduce carbon footprint.

Cloud-based deployment of software reduces the requirement for electricity on-premises and also increases performance because of high server efficiency. This leads to a decrease in resource wastage and improved server use behaviors, enabling companies to reduce their carbon footprint.

Additionally, software and platforms like CustomsCity reduce the reliance on paper-based documentation and physical document transportation, which further helps reduce logistical complications.

CustomsCity: Efficient Logistics Management

For the eCommerce logistics industry to be future-ready, it is necessary to consider incorporating sustainability as a core driver of all operations, especially because a recent Deloitte report highlighted that customers today value sustainable packaging and waste reduction the most.

A good place to start is by optimizing the logistics chain using modern technologies like IoT-powered vehicle monitoring and electrically powered fleets. Additionally, implementing digital logistics platforms like CustomsCity enables smarter resource use while reducing turnaround times for backstage logistical operations.

CustomsCity is a customs compliance platform that enables digitization and automation of international shipping documentation. It reduces the shipper load by eliminating tedious paperwork by automating the submission of necessary forms and applications.

CustomsCity provides you with tremendous advantages, especially if you are a cross-border logistics company. Visit the website to know more.

Book a Free Consultation Today

Recent Blogs

Stay Connected

Get Customs City news
delivered to your
inbox.

NEWSLETTER